Disney Crafting – Crocheting Hidden Mickey Medallions


A few years back, I saw a photo on Tagrel.com, of a hidden Mickey afghan. It was a unique homemade item that looked fairly simple to make. I fell in love with the idea and decided I would try to crochet one of my own some day.


Photo by Barrie Brewer…stolen by me from Tagrel.com.

So finally…some day has arrived and I’ve been crocheting Mickey heads in my spare time. I still haven’t decided how I’m going to join them together for my afghan (or scarf), but I have several sweet designs dancing around in my head.

I’m sharing my Mickey head pattern now…and when I start putting the heads together, I’ll share that as well.

You need to know how to chain stitch, slip stitch and double crochet. You should also know how to crochet a circle using the magic adjustable ring method. This eliminates the open center in the middle of your ears and heads.

Each Mickey head medallion is a three-layer circle…each ear is a double-layer circle.

Head Circles

Begin by making an adjustable ring.

Layer 1: Chain 3, followed by 11 double crochets in the ring. Draw the ring tightly closed by pulling on the yarn tail…then attach the 11th double crochet to the 3rd chain of your beginning chain 3 with a slip stitch. End of layer 1.

Layer 2: Chain 3 and turn*, followed by 11 pairs of double crochets in first 11 stitches and 1 unpaired double crochet in the 12th stitch. Connect the unpaired double crochet with a slipstitch into the 3rd chain of your beginning chain 3. End of layer 2.

Layer 3: Chain 3 and turn*, followed by 1 double crochet in the first stitch and 2 double crochets in the next. Continue with 1 double, then 2 doubles, 1 double, then 2 doubles. You will be almost finished after 11 sets of 1 double/2 doubles. End with an extra single double and attach it to your beginning chain 3 with a slip stitch. End of circle for head.

Ear Circles

Begin by making an adjustable ring.

Layer 1: Chain 3, followed by 11 double crochets in the ring. Draw the ring tightly closed by pulling on the yarn tail…then attach the 11th double crochet to the 3rd chain or your beginning chain 3 with a slip stitch. End of layer 1.

Layer 2: Chain 3 and turn*, followed by 9 pairs of double crochets in each of 9 stitches and 1 unpaired double crochet in the 10th stitch. The rest of the circle will be completed as you attach it to the head.

Attaching the ears: This is going to be too wordy…so I made a video for you to follow. Hopefully, I’m clear enough about how to make these Mickeys. They’re really cute. I can’t wait to get my project finished!

Oh, hey! Once you’ve added both ears to Mickey’s head, you’ll need to hide all the yarn tails. With a much smaller crochet hook than the one you’re using for the project, weave the tails in and out of the stitching. They hide well.

Now get crackin’…and show me what you come up with!

* January 10, 2012 Editing to add: It is completely unnecessary of course…to turn after your chain 3’s. To turn, or not to turn…those are your options.

26 Responses to “Disney Crafting – Crocheting Hidden Mickey Medallions”

  1. Think that I’ll try that out tonight. I have one that I created from scratch without the need to do the ears separately (but haven’t perfected the written directions, yet) and want to see them side by side. Thanks for getting me thinking again!

    • Oh fabulous!! Would love to see what you come up with. Do share the once piece directions when they’re ready! :o)

    • I’d love to see the directions for the set without being detached!! Thanks!

      • Sorry to say that I have no further directions for this project, Linda. I’m still trying to figure out how to connect them. Actually…I’ve put it aside for some time but would really like to get back to it. I’ll post more when I figure it out. :o)

      • Sandy Huling Says:

        Mine is still set aside, too. Just can’t find anything that really works. But I did just see some floral motifs that might lead me to an idea. They have some ideas about attaching petals using only front or back of the stitches. I’ll let you know if I find anything.

        Sandy

        Sent from my iPad Shop With Me anytime at http://www.longaberger.com/sandrahuling

      • I’m nearly ready to pick this project up again. I think I may make several versions in hopes of finding one that I really like. Also…I have a better photo of the afghan that Carol won. I’ll share those photos with you when I get back in gear here. :o)

  2. These are adorable! Wish I could crochet. :(

  3. Cindy, I LOVE it!! You are so very crafty.

    • Thank you! I hope your mom makes you one. If she crochets…she’ll find this to be very easy. And if she has suggestions for connecting them, I’d love to hear her ideas.

  4. That’s me holding the Mickey afghan that was a gift in the Tagomania gift exchange. I didn’t end up going home with that one but did get one the following year. I love it.

    • I’m glad you finally ended up with an afghan, Carol! And hopefully, I’ll have one for myself soon. ;o)

    • I love that afghan. I’d like to make one for my mom. Do you know if that person is selling their pattern?

      • Hello Saram! I’ve tried to retrieve the pattern from the afghan crocheter and she said that she didn’t remember exactly how she made it. I’m still trying to figure it out. If you come up with something, let me know! :o)

  5. Wow ! that is awesome! So talented.
    http://mouseencounter.blogspot.com/

  6. I am not exactly gifted when it comes to crocheting. There’s a store around the corner from me that does lessons. I’m going to take in your instructions and get some help. Adding it to my list of accomplishments for 2012!

    • Awesome, Lisa! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

      By the way…if the store has any comments or suggestions for this pattern, I would love to know what they have to say. I’m not a crocheting expert so there very well could be an easier way to do this. Also…curious about connecting suggestions. I have only a couple more heads to do and I’m ready to hook them up!

  7. Jennifer D. Says:

    Honestly the instructions are far too confusing, so this is what I came up with:
    1. mc 6, slst to join,
    2. *dc 2 in each stitch* until last stitch, dc 1 (11)
    3. *dc 2 in each stitch* (22)
    (end here for ears.)
    4. *dc 1 in stitch, dc 2 in stitch* (33)
    (end here for head)

    Sew ears to head, marking 2 stitches from center.

    I’m just about done with the heads, I’ll have a finished product to show within the week.

    • Seriously?!?!?! That’s awesome!! I can’t wait to see what you’ve created. PLEASE share your solution for connecting the heads. I’d love to pick this project up again. :o)

      • Jennifer D. Says:

        I’m just connecting head to head, sewing them together, I’ll have pictures for you shortly! I’m about 100 heads away from finishing

  8. Mine was set aside when I couldn’t find any way to connect them that I was happy with. I did get a new book back in the fall about connecting motifs of all shapes but haven’t really checked it out. I’ll be waiting to see anything that might look good…and easy! ;)

  9. I REALLY love this afghan idea! If anyone does come up with a way to connect the Mickey heads together, PLEASE post! I would love to make this! (I am afraid to start in case I never find a way to connect it all together – too many unfinished projects as it is!). Thank you for posting such a cute project idea!

    • I hope to post a method soon, Lori! :o) I’m busily hooking Mickeys in my free time. When I have 100 of them finished, I’m going to commit and connect.

  10. I’m racing through my current project so I can get to this one. I was so excited to see this when I went looking for a crochet Mickey Mouse blanket. I bought some red and yellow yarn tonight to get started as soon as I’m done with my sons c2c and then a c2c I’m doing for a friends baby it’s on lol. I hope to be done with Mickey heads in time for the connecting. Lol I am new to crocheting. Started nov 2013 lol so not too far from my one year crochetversery.

    • I wish you luck with your projects, Bobbie! I’m embarrassed to say that I’m still not finished with this one. I’m still having a hard time with a suitable way to connect my Mickeys. Project is sadly on the back burner again.

Share your thoughts?

